Ubuntu 12.04 – OwnCloud 6 – Https Set Up


I have Ubuntu Server 12.04.3 LTS set up and working.
I have LAMP installed and I have OwnCloud 6.0.1 set up and working. I can access my OwnCloud from anywhere.
I have my Cisco router forwarding my port (8056) to internal port 80. Everything works good here.
IP: 205.123.123.123:8056/owncloud (I changed my actual IP here, but this is the basic structure on HTTP port.
I do not have a registerd domain name and do not plan on getting one.

I am a novice with servers, especially with command line (I am used to visual/gui)

I want a secure data transmission (https) rather than Http.

I have followed different tutorials but none have worked for me, I am not sure where I am going wrong.

The following steps are what I have done, that have failed.
(I created a port foward in my router to listen for port 4431 and forward it to 443 at my local 192.168.2.249 address)
~~~~~

Steps on how to enable Https:

Terminal-Root
sudo -i

Enable SSL
a2enmod ssl

Restart Apache
service apache2 restart

Make Directory for Key and Cert
mkdir /etc/apache2/ssl

Create a Self Signed SSL Certificate
openssl req -x509 -nodes -days 3650 -newkey rsa:2048 -keyout /etc/apache2/ssl/apache.key -out /etc/apache2/ssl/apache.crt

Country Name (2 letter code) [AU]:US
State or Province Name (full name) [Some-State]:Coldest State Ever
Locality Name (eg, city) []:Coldest City Ever
Organization Name (eg, company) [Internet Widgits Pty Ltd]:My Home
Organizational Unit Name (eg, section) []:My Dept
Common Name (e.g. server FQDN or YOUR name) []: 205.123.123.123:4431/owncloud
Email Address []:<email address hidden>

Open up the SSL config file:
nano /etc/apache2/sites-available/default-ssl

Within the section <VirtualHost _default_:443> Add a line with your server name right below the Server Admin email:
ServerName 205.123.123.123:4431/owncloud

Add the following three lines within the <VirtualHost _default_:443> tags
SSLEngine on
SSLCertificateFile /etc/apache2/ssl/apache.crt
SSLCertificateKeyFile /etc/apache2/ssl/apache.key

Save and Exit out.

Enable Virtual Host:
a2ensite default-ssl

Restart Apache
service apache2 reload

Open browser and navigate to https://205.123.123.123:4431/owncloud

It doesn’t work.

I am not sure what I am missing or doing wrong.

To get my owncloud working again on http I just a2dismod ssl and I can access ownCloud via http.

Resolution?

Thank you

Tinggalkan Balasan

